RAFairman's Blog

An RAF Airman's Blog

I just wanted to share something with you…

Well, I am back from Afghanistan.  One adventure over, and wondering what the next one will be.  But I am starting to reflect a little on my time out in Afghan.

And of course when you do that you start to look at what you did and how you did it, and for me that’s when the doubts creep in.  Did I do it well enough? Was I good enough?  I wanted to go and test myself…how did I fare in that test?

But then on Wednesday we had our medals parade.  And the OC of our deployment gave a short final speech at the end of the parade just before we fell out and rejoined our families.  They are not his own words – they belong to Theodore Roosevelt – but to hear them…well, they made me feel a lot better about how I tackled the deployment itself.

And here they are:

It’s not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or when the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worth cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who at the worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or defeat.

I think they’ve replaced Kipling’s ‘IF’ as my favourite quote now.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “I just wanted to share something with you…

  1. Glad to hear you are back safe, noticed you mention it on Twitter.

    This blog has been an eye opener to me in so many ways so thank you so much for keeping it going during your tour and good luck with the future, whatever it may hold……will keep reading 🙂

  2. Morsleib on said:

    Those who can – do. Those who can’t – criticise.

  3. Thank you! Makes me put the daily politics of school life into perspective!

  4. A very inspirational speech. Fitting for service personnel.

    I wish you good luck for the next month doing the most challenging and rewarding jobs known to man.

  5. When we test ourselves we are our own worst critic’s and we question every move we nade as you did.
    You have no need to think back questioning yourself, for you went over there in the first instance. Therefore you are already a brave and courageous man and everything you did was above question.

  6. We can all learn from every endeavor great or small and find ways to do better next time. But Teddy’s got it about right. Learning where one could do better should never inspire regret or shame for having tried.

    To you and your unit… well done and thank you. Enjoy some time with your family before you embark on your next adventure.

  7. Kerry Maria Lawson on said:

    Everything u do is perfect 4you, no more no less. Never b in any doubt That u could’ve done more. U’re a true perfect Hero. X

  8. “The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; ”

    You did well, very,very well! xx

  9. Welcome home and thank you for your blog posts whilst out there.

    Rob…

  10. glad your back, your post moved me,i came across this site by mistake really , my Dad was RAF and am trying to trace his records,found myself here!
    would just like to add Thank you to you all for the work you do.
    Gail.

Leave a Reply

